Can You Feel the Hunger?

Alright, sooo I’m one of those people that enjoyed reading about young adults pitted against each other to the death. I mean who wouldn’t want to see children slaughtering each other. Well, okay sooo some people probably wouldn’t want to, but that’s not the point. My point for this is to show you how the movie added up to the amazing book by the name of Hunger Games. I know minions you’re probably saying to yourself, “I’ve read one review that means I’ve read them all.” Well, you haven’t read mine which mean s you’re in for a delightful treat!…At least, I believe it’s a delightful treat covered in sugar and chocolate syrup!

We begin the story of Hunger Games with a girl named Katniss Everdeen. Personally, I don’t understand who would name their child after a plant, but I guess that’s the norm in a world ravaged by starvation and isolation in things called Districts. All in all it’s a downright downer and made me think “what’s the point” while reading it. The beginning’s pretty boring and it was a struggle to get through it. This girl can usually devour books, but it was difficult with Collins writing style and the simplicity of it. Throughout the gore and the grim setting as the “games” get underway, it makes me squeamish and hard to discuss through means of writing it. It’s like reliving the most horrible moments of wars passed in your high school history class. All in all the games had me on the edge of the seat and I finished the book within a couple of days. Personally, this is one I would say watch the movie before reading the book. The book just can’t compare to the awesomeness of Jennifer Lawrence and Donald Sutherland.

Now, the movie showed things that the book hadn’t ever dreamed of showing. There was action that was creeptastic giving me goosebumps. Sure, Donald Sutherland doesn’t seem like he could play a villain looking similar to a nice grandpa that would give you chocolate, but I feel he portrayed the President of the Capital with eerie grace. The relationships seemed more real and the actors of Peeta(Katniss’s boytoy)and Katniss seemed to really grasp the meaning of awkward romance while fighting to survive in the wilderness with kids dying all around them. My one beef with the movie was the fact that the mutts(crazy genetically enhanced monsters) weren’t really horrific like I had expected them to be. Yes, they jumped in my face while watching and scared the bejeebus out of everyone in the theater, but honestly, I was more afraid of them in the book than in the movie. Even the hallucinator hornets were a bit boring though the movie made it LSD-happy. In the end, the movie was delicious and I ate every morsel of it happily. Hell, I saw it in theaters twice. Even if you hated the books horribly, you should give this a watch.

So, here’s a taste of the hunger that is Hunger Games. I hope you got a spoonful of this cake and enjoyed it as I have. Now, I’m going to go fight my brother so I don’t starve until next time my devoted minions!

Leave a Reply

