In the land of Oz

Hello my dear minions! I have returned from hibernation to bring forth news of the wondrous movie that I have had the privilege of viewing. From the title, I’m guessing that all you clever readers out there have already figured out that I’m talking about Oz The Great and Powerful. Just from hearing about the movie, I had gotten a mix of reviews some good and some bad. I’m one of those people that has to see a movie for myself and judge it whether I like it or not. This happened to be one of those movies plus I am a fan of anything Oz(Wicked, Wizard of Oz, Bubbles). Now that I’ve actually watched it for myself this is what I thought.

From the moment it started, I was captivated. It brought back memories of sitting in my living room as a kid and watching Wizard of Oz. The black and white beginning really just brought me into the world of Oz once more. The characters were compelling even from the beginning and you really wanted Oz to reach the greatness that he had wanted for himself. Just as Dorothy had reached the land of Oz so did the Wizard and that’s really where my worries were.

Sooo, I will admit the colors were too vivid or out there, and I was really starting to fear that it was going to be way over the top Disney cheese. There was no cheese to be expected here though. The colors, the music, the characters, and even the story really came together to make a brilliant piece of work. The effects could be seen through a couple of times, but really I wasn’t too worried about that. The creatures and people they brought to life through the effects were believable and I really felt for them. Especially the little China Girl. She had to be my favorite of the story.

In the end, I had the story figured out by the introduction of a certain witch(not gonna name any names but she goes by wicked and ends in witch and is a bright green color), but that still wouldn’t deter me from giving this movie a solid “GO SEE IT NOW”. Don’t let the cheesy beginning effects ruin it for you. Stick around and let the message of the story move through you and I guarantee that by the end you will leave the theater feeling extremely good. I know I did, and I don’t think there’s been a movie out there that accomplished that until now.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. If you get the chance to see Oz, I would definitely take it. Until next time, minions,  I’m gonna go see if I can really float in bubbles like Glinda.

Leave a comment